The Conservatory of Music was founded in 1967 during the term of Rev. Fr. Nicanor O. Lana, OSA, Rector of the University.Fr. Santiago Ezcurra, OSA was appointed Dean until 1987 after the University was turned over to the Filipino Province of Sto. Niño de Cebu. Ms. Salvacion S. Jardenil was appointed Dean, a position she holds up to the present.

Since its foundation, the Conservatory of Music which celebrated its Silver Jubilee in 1992, has contributed significantly to the musical and cultural life as well as in the field of Music Education in western Visayas through its varied curricular offerings.
The University of San Agustin Conservatory of Music (USACOM) is the house of formidable musicians, music educators and singers in Western Visayas.

It has reaped local, regional and national awards adding thereby to the laurels of the University.
In keeping with the educational demands of the region, the Conservatory has recently made its resources available to graduate students of the university pursuing a degree in Music Education.