18th San Agustin Writers Workshop fellows named

Ten writers have been awarded a fellowship in the 18th San Agustin Writers Workshop, which will be held online on November 10-12 and November 18-19, 2021. They are: Rochel Ellen C. Bernido (Zambales) for Creative Nonfiction in Filipino; Ella Leenail M. Deduro (Iloilo) for Creative Nonfiction in English; Rey A. Isidto (Iloilo) for Creative Nonfiction in English; Gester M. Jaicten (Iloilo City) for Poetry in English; Jose Anthony Gerard V. Muyco (Iloilo City) for Fiction in English; Adrian Pete M. Pregonir (South Cotabato) for Poetry in Hiligaynon; Jack Lorenz A. Rivera (Pasay City) for Fiction in Filipino; Orland A. Solis (Bago City) for Fiction in Hiligaynon; Ronald M. Sorrilla (Iloilo) for Poetry in Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, and Tagalog; and Febrielyn S. Tumines (Iloilo) for Fiction in English.

A total of forty-seven applications were received this year. In view of a large number of applications, two slots were added to the eight fellowships previously announced in the call for applications. 

Since this year’s workshop will be held online, an allowance of one thousand pesos will be provided for the fellows’ internet use and snacks. Prizes will also be awarded to winners of the writing contest that will be conducted during the workshop. 

The panelists include SEAWRITE awardee Dr. John Iremil Teodoro, who also serves as Workshop Director; National Book Award winner Dr. Isidoro M. Cruz, who also serves as Project Director; Palanca awardees Dr. Alice Tan Gonzales, Dulce Maria V. Deriada, and Noel Galon de Leon; and UP Centennial Literary Prize winner Criselda Yabes.

The workshop is a project of the College of Liberal Arts, Sciences, and Education, headed by Dean Nenelyn D. de la Fuente, Ph.D. (AM)